Day 39 of #100dayproject: Alice in Wonderland

rosa

Flower in the garden at Puerto Montt.
Photography edited with 400% saturation and 11.200K of temperature

“She sits with her eyes closed,

And almost believes in Wonderland

Knowing if she opens her eyes again

Everything turns it up into the tasteless reality”

Alice in Wonderland,Lewis Carroll

Charles L. Dogson – aka Lewis Carroll – written so many years ago a beautiful story about an illogical and fantastic world: Wonderland. A little girl called Alice, downs into a rabbit hole, and then, she discovers an entire new world. When I read the book I loved immediately. But, how almost philosophical book (you don’t believe that book is ONLY a children’s book, do you?) requires a third or fourth lecture to understand their fascinating secrets. In my third lecture I noticed two interesting points of view of the author about urban planning:

  1. The advices of a Caterpillar:

– “Who are you? – says the Caterpillar

– I don’t know well, Sir, at this time… At least I know who was when I wake up in the morning, but I think I changed several times since then- says Alice.

– Who are you? So, you don’t know who you are – said the caterpillar”

In our life we must always ask “Who am I?” It’s the same thing when we planned a project, writes a book or draw a paint. When we talk about to make a plan for a territory or city, we also ask: “Who are the people that habits the territory?” “What are their dreams?” “What is the essence of this territory?” Of course in the majority of projects, plans or whatever the authorities does, they never ask that questions: the only thing that matters is about the numbers, graphics and the exterior.

  1. The Cheshire Cat:

“-Cheshire cat, please, could you tell me, what path I should take? – says Alice.

– That’s depends on where do you want to go – said the Cat.

– I don’t mind a lot – said Alice

– So, you don’t care what path do you take – said the Cat”

The answers of Cheshire cat are so obvious, I know. But, they solve the everyday questions. In our lives or projects: “Where I go with this project/plan?” “What will do today” I think, if we do a survey about the questions that gypsies or tarot readers answered every day, I guess, the 80% is about those questions.

That’s the importance of planning. When we do a project with planning and we keep those questions at every moment we could create a project with the logical sense, because we don’t want to waste the people’s money or public funds. The evaluation tools bring us the necessary background and feedback of our project at every step of the process. For example, the Post It webpage bring us free evaluation tool for generic projects (image below).

pos-it1

 

Leave a Reply

